Advertising Standards Complaints Board

In March 1988 ASA established a separate self-regulatory body called the Advertising Standards Complaints Board (formerly known as the Advertising Standards Council) to administer the Codes of Practice in New Zealand. Its three main functions are:

  1. To adjudicate on complaints received about advertisements which may be in breach of the Codes of Practice.

  2. To advise the ASA on interpretation of the Codes and possible improvements to the Codes.

  3. To report to the ASA on any aspect of advertising which is causing concern.

The Complaints Board comprises five public representatives with no connection to media or advertising groups, one of whom is the chairperson with a right to exercise a casting vote, plus four persons nominated by the ASA, representative of media, advertising agencies, and advertisers.

The current members of the Complaints Board are:

Public Representatives

  • Jenny Robson (Chairman)– A qualified lawyer. Tenancy Tribunal Adjudicator and Review Officer conducting hearings for the Inland Revenue Department on Child Support issues. Public member of the Real Estate Agents Disciplinary Tribunal.

  • Phil Broughton(Deputy Chairman)– A Chartered Accountant with 31 years’ experience and Consultant at Polson Higgs in Dunedin. Experience and expertise in business and training across a number of sectors and is of Ngai Tahu and Kahungunu descent.

  • Alex Handiside– Policy experience with the Mental Health Foundation, Hutt City Council, Ministry of Youth Development and the Mental Health Commission.

  • Dr Deborah Read– Registered medical practitioner with specialist qualifications in public health medicine. Public Health Consultant and Associate Professor at the Centre for Public Health Research, Massey University. Former Deputy Chair, Medical Council of New Zealand.

  • Prue Kelly– Education Consultant. Former Principal, Wellington High School.

  • Susan Taylor (Alternate)– A qualified lawyer and Chief Executive Officer for Financial Services Complaints Ltd (an independent disputes resolution scheme for financial providers). Former Deputy Banking Ombudsman.

  • Margaret McKee (Alternate)– Director. Former CEO of Queen Elizabeth II National Trust. Previously Business Manager of Outward Bound Trust and senior executive in horticultural companies.

The four industry members come from diverse backgrounds in the advertising industry. They are:

  • Dianne Martin – Broadcast media (TVNZ)

  • Lynley Belton – Non-Broadcast media (Fairfax Magazines)

  • Grant Maxwell – Advertising Agencies (MECGLOBAL/Y&R)

  • Rachel Prince – Advertisers (NZ Transport Agency)

  • Nigel Keats – (Alternate) Advertising Agencies

  • Daniel Robertson – (Alternate) Non-Broadcast (MSN)

  • Jessica Nikora – (Alternate) Advertisers (New Zealand Defence Force)

  • Sharon Daly – (Alternate) Broadcast media (Sky Network Television)

  • Sharon Daly – (Alternate) Broadcast media (Sky Network Television)

The Advertising Standards Complaints Board considers complaints about advertisements in all media.


Advertising Standards Authority New Zealand, PO Box 10-675, Wellington 6143. PH (04) 472 7852 FAX (04) 471 1785 Email asa@asa.co.nz