Advertising Standards Complaints Appeals Board

In 1994 the ASA established the Advertising Standards Complaints Appeal Board. Its function is to adjudicate on appeals from Decisions of the Complaints Board. The main grounds for appeal are new evidence, the rules of natural justice were not followed or the Decision was against the weight of evidence. Full details are available from the Secretary to the Complaints Board.

There are two public representatives on the Appeal Board and one industry representative. The current members of the Appeal Board are:

  • Euan Abernethy (Chairperson, Public Member) - Partner in a major law firm for 34 years and then Chairman of the Securities Commission from 1995-2001.

  • Judi Jones: (Public Member) A qualified lawyer, also with a Masters Degree in Business Studies, Judi is Electricity Complaints Commissioner.  She is also a former lecturer in Disputes Resolution at Massey University; has been a Board Member of Consumers’ Institute for several years, and is a past Chairperson.  Judi has an extensive background in community affairs.

  • Bob Moffat (Industry Member):  Bob is a former advertising agency executive.

  • Alan Haronga (Public Alternate) – Former public member of the Advertising Standards Complaints Board and Company Director of a number of companies and Crown agencies. Chairman of the Mangatu Blocks Incorporation. Previously he has practiced as a chartered accountant and was a partner in Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu.

  • Martyn Turner (Industry Alternate):  Martyn is a former Chief Executive, Ogilvy Mather, currently Chisel Communications, Wellington).

  • Paul Elenio (Industry Alternate):  Paul is a consultant and former industry member of the Advertising Standards Complaints Board. He has extensive experience in newspaper management, advertising and publishing..


Advertising Standards Authority New Zealand, PO Box 10-675, Wellington 6143. PH (04) 472 7852 FAX (04) 471 1785 Email asa@asa.co.nz